US Citizens Will Need a Visa for European Travel Beginning 2021

Amid growing tension between Europe and the United States, it was learned that the old continent will require Americans including Canadian citizens a special entry permit, which will be valid for three years.

Since last year, European authorities have planned the European Travel Information and Authorization System, which will require “pre-travel examinations for the safety and migration risks of travelers who benefit from visa-free access to the Schengen area. ”

The change is drastic because until now the citizens of the United States could freely enter a country of the Schengen zone for a maximum period of 90 days, which includes 26 countries that do not have internal borders.

“As other countries and regions of the world did, Europe recently decided to improve its level of security to avoid further problems with illegal migration and terrorism, which means that as of 2021, all Americans traveling to a country in the area European Schengen will need, “the EU said.

Currently the countries that make up the Schengen area are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland , Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The EU statement says that to make the permit effective, Americans will have to have a valid passport “valid for 3 months beyond the expected period of stay of each person.”

The United States has a similar system, in which it requires a permit from the citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Poland, Romania and Cyprus. Europe has tried to negotiate the measure, but the government of Donald Trump has been rigid and has refused to accede.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *